The first website I have frequently used is Web English Teacher. I used it more while teaching high school when I was designing my units. After NCLB and our restrictions (anthologies, pacing guides, etc.) I used it less often. However, it has great interactive lessons and units, study guides and even a section on technology integration. They have a great comparison on blogs, wikis and docs. It's very user-friendly with all the various pages on the far left. 

During my recent Masters explorations of websites, I ran across the second one, that lists free digital storytelling tools for students. Across the top, it has the different pages that give resources for teachers, such as the following: Ipad resources, Youtube 4 teachers, and teachers' guides for using technology in the classroom. Each example has a clear explanation of how the tool is useful for the classroom. In addition, it has a section on 21st century skills for the classroom, which explains its necessity in the classroom. It is a one-stop-shop for teachers who are techno-phobic, but want to sound well-informed (hence my desire to use it). I really like that they've integrated a list of the different tools with their use in the classroom and the rationale for needing to add 21st century skills, too.



Leave a Reply.