Youtube in the Classroom Reflection

I have personally relied on Youtube for entertainment, and, within the last year, as a means for learning new information (most recently, before my first kayak trip, I looked up how to not fall while on a kayak). This past school year, I used a Youtube video on how to do an advanced Google search and presented it to my students. This was the first time I'd really utilized this resource as a direct teaching tool, and to my seasoned-teacher's shock, was amazed at how I could hear pin-drop silence during that five minutes. I'd already begun this program, and was really pleased that I had after that brief use. Prior to that, I'd pull up videos to present a historical background to what we'd read in class. 

As far as my classroom is concerned, I see such great benefits for brief research and even as examples for different manners to present material. Further, I find the use of making my own channel to upload videos as a definite enhancement to my classroom practice. And, it will provide an ease that I haven't always felt when bringing a video to class. 



Leave a Reply.