Classroom Applications of Twitter: 
As a middle school teacher, I'm interested in exploring the educational value of utilizing Twitter in the classroom. Eighth graders are definitely capable of learning to tweet from an educational standpoint. In fact, since it isn't often a social media resource the utilize socially, it might be easier to integrate that into the classroom (think Instagram---completely of a social nature). However, I have yet to see how it might surpass Edmodo or blogs on a website. Still, the idea that students must encapsulate their thoughts into 140 characters, is really powerful. I could see this as a help for students who want to do initial research, too. Finally, the fact that students share their username will help curb inappropriate use.

Personally, I like the professional research lens it offers, as educators are at different places with regards to PBL or RTI. I can receive almost instantaneous help with any question or curiosity I may have.

Further, utilizing it as a platform to share information with parents is also a sound use. However, I feel like the website I use is more efficient for me. 



Leave a Reply.